The story so far

Having decided that the time was right to migrate from the back of a bus to the front, I gathered the necessary forms from the DSA (Driving Standards Agency) along with several text books on driving large vehicles. I called my local doctor’s surgery and nearly fell off my chair when they quoted £104.00 to carry out a medical! I politely said “thanks, I’ll be in touch”. I was of course, but not with them. After a bit of digging around on the net, I found another doctor across town who would do it for £35.00. This suited my pocket much better so I made an appointment.

The day of my appointment arrived and my next challenge was to find the place. It was actually a Chiropractor’s surgery on the first floor above a small shop in a pedestrian precinct. This being a Saturday, it was occupied by a doctor whose waiting room was full of chaps like me, clutching D4 Medical Report forms.

I nearly fell at the first hurdle because I’d not brought any ID with me. Unfortunately I wasn’t told about this when I made the appointment and I had left my current driver’s licence on my desk at home, ready to be sent off to the DVLA. I managed to convince the doctor that the decision about whether my identity was legitimate would be taken by the folks at the DVLA when they compared the photo on their files with the new one I was going to have done later that day. He seemed happy with that and proceeded with the medical report. Everything was satisfactory, he signed the form and I walked away happy.

I sent off the forms and my new licence, with category D provisional entitlement, arrived on Saturday. So today I called my instructor to fix up a driving assessment session, probably one day next week. In the meantime, I’m revising all the potential questions from the official theory test. Thankfully most of them are just common sense. The only thing that might trip me up is driver’s hours regulations.

Leave a Reply

