Practice Theory Test

With the date of my bus driver  Theory Test drawing closer, I thought I’d take the simulated Hazard Perception Test that’s provided on the DSA training DVD. Having watched the tutorial part of the programme earlier I went through the simulated test today. This is a series of clips recorded out on the roads, showing different real life hazards, both in the country and in town.

I thought it would be quite easy, having been a car driver for more than 30 years. I always try to be careful and observant on the road but I was disappointed to only score 1 out of 5 in the first section. What could have gone wrong?

I dutifully clicked my mouse when a hazard presented itself but, when I only scored 2 out of 5 in the next section I realised that I wasn’t identifying the potential hazards early enough. After each section the clip is re-run with a commentary to identify where all the hazards were. I soon found out that, not only was I late in clicking, I was missing simple things like a muddy road surface and warning signs beside the road.

After changing the timing and frequency of my mouse clicks, my scoring gradually improved until finally scoring 5 out of 5 on the penultimate clip.

Suitably pleased with my score, I moved on to the second practice Theory Test.

In the first practice, where 50 of the 100 set questions are provided in an online practice session, I scored 47. Today I tried the second test provided on the DSA website. This time I scored 48 out of 50, a comfortable pass. I failed on a question about wheelchair access and another on seat belts.

My actual Theory Test is booked for this coming Thursday so check back later to find out how I scored.

Leave a Reply

