Someone left the bus out…

Following on from an earlier post about cleaning buses in preparation for the recent Depot Open Weekend, here are some alternative lyrics to a well known song that popped into my head. Just to recap, I was sweeping out the top decks of some vintage open top buses in the yard at Norton Fitzwarren. All the seats appeared to be coated in a layer of fine, volcanic dust. The buses must have been parked outside during some recent heavy rain. That’s when some very odd lyrics began to form in my head, to the tune of  ‘MacArthur Park’. This was a song by Jimmy Webb, first recorded in 1968 by Richard Harris (the actor who played the original Albus Dumbledore in the early Harry Potter films). The song is probably most famous now for having possibly the most bizarre lyrics ever, the meaning of which is lost in time. Here it is, if you want to listen to the original:

And here are the chorus lyrics, with my version in green:

MacArthur Park is melting in the dark
Open toppers are waiting in the yard
All the sweet, green icing flowing down…
All the seats, really need dusting down…
Someone left the cake out in the rain
Someone left the bus out in the rain
and I don’t think that I can take it
and I don’t think that I can face it
’cause it took so long to bake it
’cause it takes so long to clean it
and I’ll never have that recipe again
and I’m running out of energy again
Oh, no!
Oh yes!

Leave a Reply

