Mind the Gap, here comes the Boris Bus!

Posted today by Tom Edwards on the BBC web site is a first look at London’s new ‘son of Routemaster’. The bus is currently at pre-production mock-up stage and looks more like a film set prop than a bus fit for 21st century London.

I haven’t been following the project particularly, I’m more interested in the real Routemasters and other buses of that era. But the new ‘Boris Bus’ is fascinating because, like the reborn Mini, VW Beetle and Fiat 500, it attempts to capture some of the features that made the Routemaster such an icon. The most obvious one is the open rear platform but, as a conductor myself, I fail to see how Transport for London (TfL) is going to make any money out of this when the driver and his till are at the front. I must admit that I haven’t looked into how they plan to operate it but I presume they’ve looked into this obvious loophole.

I certainly hope so. After all, Boris Johnson (a.k.a. the government) has committed to spend £7.8 million on it!

2 comments on “Mind the Gap, here comes the Boris Bus!

  1. Mike Dan says:

    I like the look of the bus anyway! It reminds me somewhat of the special one made for the Chineese Olympics display.

  2. I have to admit that it certainly has style if not functionality. Can’t understand why three entrances are required since this must considerably reduce the seating capacity, and assuming the bus will be OPO I agree with your comments about loss of fares from people jumping on and off at the back.
    If the idea is to make it look like a Routemaster they really need to to put a narrow window bay in the middle of the body!!!

Leave a Reply

