Short season for Exmoor Explorer

It looks like I will get some conducting turns on the Exmoor route this summer after all.

Although Somerset County Council has withdrawn its financial support from the service 400 “Exmoor Explorer”, the operator of the route has agreed to run the service as a commercial route, i.e. without any subsidy from the Council (see the Bus Service Changes page on the Council website). Quantock Motor Services will run the 400 on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays from July 23rd until September 4th and also on the remaining Sundays of September.

I’m not sure that timetable and fare details have been confirmed yet but they will probably be similar to last year. Bus passes are unlikely to be accepted though.

2 comments on “Short season for Exmoor Explorer

  1. Mike Dan says:

    I enjoyed using the service a couple of times last year for the first time, happily using my bus pass. Now that I know what you see and enjoy on the route,I will be back even if I have to pay!

    • busmanjohn says:

      It will be great to see you and Val again. It’s a great trip and well worth the fare, whatever it turns out to be! If I hear any news about fares and passes I will of course post it here.

Leave a Reply

