Driving a Bath Services Lodekka – in Bath!

My second outing with a heritage bus this year took me through some familiar territory and some new. I was allocated former Bath Services LD6G L8515 (969EHW), a bus I had seen many times at the Crosville Motor Services depot but had never driven.

I had a relatively relaxed start, not having to pick up my passengers until 13:10 in Bath city centre. I took my time over my walk around checks, chatted to a few folks and did my paperwork. My first stop after leaving was the filling station, having borrowed a fuel card. On the way out I crunched a few gears, which annoyed me. It was mostly because the gear stick was… well, sticky. When it was time to change gear, it was reluctant to move into neutral which played havoc with my timing!

Fuelled up, I headed out of Weston-super-Mare on the Wells road, through the village of Banwell and on to the A38. Little by little I got used to the peculiarities of this Lodekka. It was built in 1959 for ‘Bath Services’, a division of Bristol Omnibus. I was rather pleased to be driving this bus at last as I remember seeing this one (and other Lodekkas in the XXXSHW batch) as a boy as it passed my Grandparents’ house in Wilton Road, Salisbury on the last leg of its Bath-Salisbury run.

I had to time my arrival in Bath very carefully because there is a maximum waiting time of 10 minutes at the pickup point in Terrace Walk. However, I had enough time in hand to be able to take a break in a layby in Saltford, where I ate some lunch. I had guessed that it would take me 20 minutes to drive from there to the city centre and I was just about right, arriving about 13:12 under the watchful eye of a lady warden. Almost as soon as I had got down from the cab to open the platform doors, she asked me to stop my engine!

While the wedding party got themselves seated, I managed a quick photo of the bus. I made sure that the fleet name was in the shot!

969EHW-in-Bath

We were soon on our way, taking the A36 Warminster road out of the city. Once again I relied on the previous evening’s ‘dry run’ with Google maps. Having a bus with a 5-speed box was useful, although top speed was only 40mph, due to the bus only having a low-ratio back axle. The weather was mostly bright and sunny, ideal for a wedding in the country.

On the way to the venue I had to stop at the Rose & Crown, Limpley Stoke. Not for liquid refreshment, although that would have been very welcome, but to pick up a small group of guests from the bus stop on the adjacent main road. The groom, who had booked the bus, was disappointed to learn that I wouldn’t be going off the main road and into the pub car park as requested. I think he understood the reason, after I had explained that getting in would be as easy as pie but getting out again would be impossible, due to the very acutely angled junction with the main road. I had already decided that, due to the lack of room to turn left back onto the A36, I would be staying on the main road. As it happened, someone texted ahead when we were almost there and they were all waiting patiently at the bus stop. Even if they hadn’t been forewarned, I’m sure they would have heard our labouring bus as it slowly climbed the hill towards the pub in 2nd gear.

Just as we approached Wick Farm, the wedding venue, Google Street View let me down. The map imagery was taken just as the venue was being developed and showed what looked like an access road being prepared just off the A36. When we got there however, the entrance was nowhere to be seen. Then I glimpsed a large sign beside the next junction which proclaimed ‘Wick Farm 200 yards on the left”. We had sailed past the junction before I realised that I should have turned left at the junction. So instead, I carried on a few more yards and pulled into a wide junction on the right which led to Norton St Philip in order to turn around. This involved a bit of reversing and I could have done with a conductor’s help at that point but I made do with using the mirrors and peering over my shoulder and looking past the passengers and through the back windows. Apparently this manoever generated a round of applause on the top deck!

969EHW-at-Wick-Farm

The guests alighted at Wick Farm, set in the chalky landscape but no longer involved in its cultivation. The turning space seen here was designed for taxis and limousines but not double deck buses so I had to take a couple of bites at turning the bus. My arms are feeling the effects even as I type this! After a short wait I drove the empty bus across the A36 and down the road to Norton St Philip where the bridal party was getting ready at a hostelry in the village. I parked beside The George Inn while I waited.

969EHW-at-Norton-St-Philip

The beautifully dressed bride and her attendants bravely tackled the stairs to travel on the top deck while the others rode downstairs. It was only a few minutes before we were back at Wick Farm. I took a break at this point and waited for the wedding ceremony to take place because I had been asked to wait so that the newlyweds could have some photos with this bus. I sat in the warmth of the upper saloon and was surprised to see, over the rooftops of the converted farm buildings, the White Horse carved into the chalky hillside near Westbury. I didn’t realise I was that close!

The photo session was soon over and I was free to go. The empty journey was uneventful, except for a couple of stops on the way to enable me to set up a camcorder on the lower front window to record our progress through Bath. It’s a journey that this bus must have done many times in the 1960s and 70s and I thought that, even though the camera mount is a bit shaky, it was worth uploading.

There’s also a clip from a later part of the journey, including Brislington, Hartcliffe and Bishopsworth, here: http://youtu.be/9N23Cqf9Pok

Back at the depot I parked in the sunshine next to two other returnees so that I could plan my reversing manoever into the garage.

Heritage-buses-at-Crosville-depot

The garage was strangely empty of most of the heritage fleet. Some were being prepared to travel to the Bristol Harbourside Rally the next day and some were in storage in another unit nearby. This was to make room for a number of new vehicles fresh from the paint shop, due to enter service with the local bus service fleet. I was due to take a vehicle to the Harbourside rally but sadly had to decline due to the 150th Anniversary celebrations at our church. Maybe next year!

In summary, despite my sentimental attachment to it, this isn’t my favourite bus to drive. It performs well but the stiff gearchange gave me some grief. All the other Lodekkas I’ve driven seem happy to slip easily into neutral but this one put up a bit of a fight which makes clean, accurately timed changes difficult to come by! My other gripe is that this bus is fitted with a direction indicator switch mounted on the headlight dip stalk, which is in turn mounted on the steering column. The usual place for the direction indicator is to the driver’s right, beside the door. The benefit here is that you turn the pointer in the direction in which you intend to go, it flashes in sync with the indicators and you can see it. To operate the switch on L8515 I had to reach under the vibrating steering wheel, which has left me with a bruised forearm, I discovered this morning. The other disadvantage is that the pointy bit is facing backwards so that, if I’m turning left, I have to turn the switch in a clockwise direction which feels all wrong. And the light doesn’t flash, it stays lit meaning that I forgot that it was still on, several times. If you were following me yesterday, sorry! You might think that all Lodekkas look the same but I can tell you that, from the driving seat, each one is different!

10 comments on “Driving a Bath Services Lodekka – in Bath!

  1. Ray says:

    Hi John, keep up the good work!
    Managed to get back to the UK recently, and although didn’t get to ride on a Bristol bus, took the half cab that is being used to ferry punters to Agatha Christie’s holiday home near Brixham. Good stuff.
    Cheers
    Ray
    Melbourne

    • busmanjohn says:

      Hello Ray, thanks for your comment. Yes, I’ve seen the bus you mentioned. It’s a Leyland PS2 I think, with a Barnaby body.

      • Ray says:

        I was trying to remember the make, you are spot on with it being a Barnaby body. The rego is AHL694.
        I recall the driver saying it was the last one of it’s build. It had been used as a library bus on Heartbeat at some point.

  2. heikoworld says:

    Well John you had a fine day for this, the one thing I do when I know your going to be out, I wait for your post on your blog, your writing of the whole days event always seems to come across as if I am stood listening to you, or even there with you, excellent report and I don`t need to guess as I know you enjoy what you do imensley, yes, it shows.
    The added bonus was the 12 minute video through Bath, the Lodekka performed well with a beautiful sound coming from the gearbox and, the perfect “Hunting” of the engine tick over.
    Spending my whole life as a TV Cameraman/Cinematographer I ignored the slight quiver of the camera, it was to be expected, your driving skills of these vehicles should make you proud, you must be a big hit with all the party`s you take out.
    Well Done John, I will look forward to the next one.

    • busmanjohn says:

      Thank you, Mr Heikoworld, for your kind comments. Yes, I do enjoy what I do and I’m glad it shows through my writing.

      You mentioned the ‘hunting’ tickover of this bus; it’s particularly pronounced compared to other Lodekkas I’ve driven, which are much more even when idling. Perhaps the governor needs attention! However, Leyland engines are prone to hunting and it seems to be one of their identifying sounds.

  3. Don McKeown says:

    Really enjoyed the video John; as a teenager I spent many happy hours sitting on the rearward facing front seat of Lodekkas, twisting round to get this view of the road ahead. What a pity modern buses have such apalling forward vision; is that really progress?

  4. Bill Stickers says:

    Interesting John about the remarks you make about Bristol constant mesh gearboxes. I learnt on an ex Brighton Hove and District FLF, the gearbox of which was a “pussycat” light and easy through the gate and it almost dropped itself into gear. However on one occasion it was stopped for servicing and the instructor said we would be using another FLF an ex Midland General example. He said to be careful with the gearbox, as it was more difficult to operate, which it was. It was very stiff through the gate and more notchy. Coming out of gear you had to use a fair bit of force and if you were in second you had to be careful, instead of selecting third, you did not end up passing neutral and heading for first.
    Regarding Bristol rear axle ratios, I remember talking to the driver of the “Bath Services” KSW6B, at Warminster one year. He said that, although it was fitted with an overdrive, five speed gearbox, you were hard pressed to achieve 45mph. This contrasted with the “West Yorkshire” KSW6B and 6Gs, which were good for over 50mph on the level.

    • busmanjohn says:

      The gearbox on L8515 was really quite stiff but I was glad to read your comment – it’s not just me! Yes, the KSW’s owner has said to me previously that it tops out at about 43mph. I couldn’t get L8515 to give me more than 40mph on Saturday.

  5. Bill Stickers says:

    I would imagine that the KSW was slightly faster than the LD, lies in their respective engines. That is to say the Bristol AVW engine of the KSW was probably governed at about 100rpm more than the Gardner 6LW of the LD.
    I remember reading some Bristol publicity material for the “F” series Lodekka, when it was still a current model. They supplied it with both low and high ratio diffs. With a four speed gearbox the low ratio diff gave a maximum speed of 31mph, with the high ratio diff it was 38mph. With the five speed overdrive box these speeds became 48mph (low ratio) and 55mph (high ratio). In theory and definitely not uphill 🙂

Leave a Reply

