Ex-London Transport AEC RT on Guernsey

Looking back in my family archives I came across this photo of ex-London Transport AEC Regent III, RT 1377 when operating with Guernseybus in the 1990s.

AEC-RT-on-Guernsey

The bus has been on the island of Malta since 2008 and the BusWeb site carries this snippet of information about it: “Originally London Transport RT1377 (KXW 476), this AEC Regent III operated for many years as an open-topper on the island of Guernsey, first with Guernseybus and then with Island FM as a publicity vehicle. It arrived on Malta in 2008 and is pictured in March 2009 in as acquired condition. The intention was to use it on sightseeing tours, but it never entered service and is now with the Malta Historic Vehicle Trust.

KFM893-MatthewThe young chap in the driver’s seat in the photo above is my eldest son, who shares my interest in historic transport. He’s grown up with his own family now but last year sampled the cab of a Crosville Bristol L5G when I passed through his neck of the woods last year.

Peter-in-RT-cab

What is it about Dads? We feel constrained to put our young children in the driver’s seat of any old bus we come across! I did the same with the old RT on Guernsey. In the back of my mind I was trying to re-create the photo my Dad took of me in the cab of a Lodekka when I was about 4. How could I turn down the opportunity to do the same?!
So here’s young son Peter in the cab of RT1377.

Peter-in-uniform

If you have been following this blog for some time you will have seen evidence that Peter joins me sometimes as bus conductor. I’m delighted that, although he never saw half-cab buses in service, he’s developed an affinity for the old days and is more than happy to don a Tilling uniform and run the platform on special occasions.

One comment on “Ex-London Transport AEC RT on Guernsey

  1. heikoworld says:

    Well John I don`t know what happened to my son, I was into Bus`s, I have programmed computers, I worked as A Television cameraman all my life, I was a photographer and still am and, I did amateur radio, that was the only thing my son followed me on, he is 45 now and decided he never wanted to work, he never got that from me, very strange the way people turn out.
    It`s good to see both your sons have your addiction for something from the past, great picture of your youngest at the wheel and doing a stint at conducting, there are not many livery`s in white, watch someone prove me wrong.

Leave a Reply

