AEC Regent V at Morris Centenary Rally

I took my 1967 Morris Minor along to the Morris Centenary Rally at Cornbury Park, Oxfordshire last weekend. I was very pleased to see this very smartly presented AEC Regent V being used as the rally control point and commentary position.

Southampton 373FCR

Sadly it didn’t move during the weekend, nor was I able to see inside as it was in continuous use by orgainsers, marshals and commentators. Now in the care of the Southampton & District Transport Heritage Trust, 373FCR was operated by City of Southampton. It has East Lancs bodywork and is fitted with an AEC AV590 9.6 litre engine.

busmanjohns-morris-minor

The main purpose of the weekend was to celebrate 100 years since Morris Motors was established. Strongly represented, as you would expect, was the Morris Minor model in all its forms. Some people have estimated that there were about 1,000 of these iconic cars on the rally field and I can well believe it. There were Morris Minors for as far as the eye could see!

Another bus caught my eye but this was in the craft tent and was a model of AEC Routemaster ALM59B. It is a hand-built model made with balsa and card and is based on RM2059 which ran with London Transport before spending much of the 90s with Delaine of Bourne, in whose livery it is painted. It is a finely detailed model, even down to the miniature passengers within!

delaine-ALM59B

inside-delaine-ALM59B

One bus I would have loved to have seen was the Morris Motors Brass Band Bus. It is based nearby at the Oxford Bus Museum but, for whatever reason, wasn’t present.

My next bus outing is tomorrow for a wedding in Bristol. At this stage I’m not sure which bus I’ve been rostered with but all will be revealed in my next post!

5 comments on “AEC Regent V at Morris Centenary Rally

  1. Don McKeown says:

    During my early years as a motorist, Morris Minors seemed to be everywhere; they were usually driven very slowly by elderly people with a long queue of frustrated traffic behind them! Seriously, they were a really iconic part of Britain’s motoring history, and it is great to see so many survive. I had the other classic car of the time, the original VW Beetle. How things have changed, who would have thought in those days that we would have cars with diesel engines, five speed gearboxes and power steering?

    • busmanjohn says:

      I find that the MM keeps up with modern traffic remarkably well, considering its age. I suppose it’s all down to your driving style. I’m not an elderly person yet!

  2. heikoworld says:

    The first car I ever had John was a 1949 Morris Minor, it had headlamps in the Grill as opposed to on the end of the wings. That was in the early 1960`s, yes, I wish I had known more about the workings of cars then, but sadly it fell to pieces. I was a soft top and the registration was GVJ 160, I was 17 or 18 we had some good times in that car.

  3. Ray Bounsall says:

    Hi guys,
    Just to let you know, there is a superb 1:43 scale model of a 1952 Morris Minor MkII handmade in Bath available. Go to http://www.brooklinmodels.co.uk
    Tell them Ray from Melbourne sent you, I represent them down under!

Leave a Reply

