Morris Minor wedding car

This is one of those posts that doesn’t feature a bus, or at least not directly. This time I’m focussing on one of my other interests, the Morris Minor.

Morris-Minor-wedding-car

I recently acquired a new Minor, after passing my first one (a Dove Grey 2-door saloon) to my son Peter. He has inherited my love of historic transport and often joins me on my bus adventures as Conductor. Convertible Morris Minors don’t come onto the market very often so I was particularly drawn to this one, especially as it is white. Regular readers will know that I attend many weddings as a vintage bus driver so the prospect of turning out occasionally with a Moggie appealed to me!

The market for classic vehicles as wedding transport continues to flourish in the UK, and not just vintage buses. Vintage cars have been used for weddings for decades but recently other types of vehicle have gained popularity. These days you can see brides arriving for their marriage ceremony in vehicles as diverse as stretched limos, fire engines and VW camper vans! The iconic Morris Minor has also been added to the list of popular vehicles in the last few years but I have never seen one used as wedding transport in South Devon. So I intend to plug that gap!

Morris-1000-convertible-at-Torre-AbbeyThe Torbay and South Devon area has many excellent wedding venues, including the historic Torre Abbey (seen on the right) where the Spanish Barn is often used for both ceremonies and reception events. Cockington Court (seen above) is now the location for the Torbay Register Office and many local weddings take place there as well as in the 11th century Cockington Parish Church which you can see in the background.

My new Minor has been named ‘Gracie’ and I’m just starting to promote her on social media in the hope of gaining a few bookings for 2016. Alongside existing commitments as a heritage bus driver, I hope to be able to take on half a dozen or so weddings as well.

FJ6154-meets-Morris-Minor

In due time of course I will introduce Gracie to some of the vintage buses that I’m involved with, as I’ve already done with my previous Minor.

If you want more information about my convertible Minor, please visit Gracie’s Facebook page. If you’re in South Devon and are planning a wedding soon, get in touch with me through Facebook or email me at gracieweddingcar@gmail.com and I will answer any questions that you may have.

The photo at the top of the page was taken in the grounds of Cockington Court, Torquay and Gracie was decked out (along with her driver) especially for the photoshoot.

Leave a Reply

